Darling Alexa

26 Aug

Alexa Ray Joel, daughter of supermodel Christie Brinkley and piano man Billy Joel, has lived a fairly low-profile existence… until last year. Sure, her father wrote a super sweet song for her when she was 9 -“Lullabye (Goodnight My Angel)” – and she decided as a teenager to follow in her dad’s footsteps and pursue a music career. But she is most notorious these days (in the tabloids, at least) for two things: a nose job and, sadly, a suicide attempt.

Let’s just say I did not have the highest of hopes when her name, and new single “Notice Me” came bopping onto my car stereo a couple of weeks ago. She has a distinctive voice – think Minnie Mouse meets Lady Gaga – and knows her way around a catchy beat, but as soon as she dove into her chorus, I just couldn’t turn the dial fast enough. The second time I heard the song on the radio, I listened for a few beats longer:

I can light up a room now
I can write a good tune now

Can she? I’m not yet convinced.

Then, a link to the tune’s music video appeared on my Facebook news feed last week. I’m not sure what drove me to do this, but I clicked on it. Weirder yet, it got caught in my head. Big time.

I can’t decide if I love it or hate it. But I’ll give her this – it’s hard not to notice her.

Leave a Reply

